Colombia has gone through many name changes, starting with the Viceroyalty of New Granada (1718-1810.) Declaring independence from Spain, it united with Venezuela and Ecuador, as the State of Greater Colombia. Splitting from the union in 1831, Colombia was re-named the Republic of New Granada. From 1858-61 it was the Granadine Confederation, then the short-lived New Granada, then United States of Colombia (1861-65.) In 1885 it became the Republic of Colombia, its current name. Interestingly, various Colombian states continued issuing their own stamps from 1863 until 1904. The earliest Colombian stamps listed in Scott Catalogue volume 2A, are twelve issued 1859-60 by the Granadine Confederation. If you love history, this is it!